Run for Office

Onward to 2018

Are you interested in becoming a candidate for local, state or national office? The Candidate Recruitment Committee recruits and advises potential candidates ready, willing and able to give their time and energy to public service. We are searching for committed Democratic leaders of integrity, ability, and vision.

Contact Our Team

The Escambia Democratic Party hosted a Democratc Candidate and Campaign Training facilitated by Kevin Winchell on Saturday, June 3, 2017. We hope to offer more wokshops for our canddiates, campaign strategists, and volunteers in Pensacola. Please let us know if you are interested.


Escambia County Supervisor of Elections
213 Palafox Place, 2nd Floor, Pensacola, FL 32502


Candidate Resources

Do your research if you are thinking about running for office. Before deciding to run, you will need to find answers to some questions, includng: Which office is right for me? How much money will I have to raise? How much time will I need to spend campaigning?


Politics the Wellstone Way
NOI's Candidate Project: Should I Run? 
Emily's List: Making the Dough Rise (fundraising)
Why Don't Women Run for Office?


National Democratic Training Committee
(Free online training for Democratic candidates) 

Front Line Leaders Academy
New American Leaders Project
Sorensen Institute for Political Leadership
Democracy for America Training

Candidate training for women:

Running Start
Emerge America
Ruth's List Florida
Emily's List
Truman Project

Candidate training for LGBT:

Victory Institute 



Offices Up for Election in 2018

United States Senator
Bill Nelson (Democrat) • Term expires 1/2019

Representative in Congress
District 1: Matt Gaetz (Republican) • Term expires 1/2019 

Rick Scott (Republican) • Term expires 1/2019

Attorney General
Pam Bondi (Republican) • Term expires 1/2019

Chief Financial Officer
Jimmy Patronis (Republican) • Term expires 1/2019

Commissioner of Agriculture
Adam Putnam (Republican) • Term expires 1/2019

State House of Representatives
District 1:  Clay Ingram (Republican) • Term expires 11/2018
District 2: Frank White (Republican) • Term expires 11/2018

Escambia County Commission
District 2: Doug Underhill (Republican) • Term expires 11/2018
District 4: Grover Robinson (Republican) • Term expires 11/2018

Emerald Coast Utilities Authority
District 2: Lois Benson (Republican) • Term expires 11/2018
District 4: Dale Perkins (Republican) • Term expires 11/2018

Nonpartisan races to consider:

Pensacola Mayor
Ashton J. Hayward (Republican) • Term expires 11/2018

Pensacola City Council
District 2: Sherri F. Myers (NP) • Term expires 11/2018
District 4: Larry B. Johnson (Democrat) • Term expires 11/2018
District 6: Brian Spencer (Republican) • Term expires 11/2018

Escambia County School District Board of Education
District 1: Kevin Adams (Republican) • Term expires 11/2018
District 2: Gerald W. Boone (Republican) • Term expires 11/2018
District 3: Linda Moultrie (Democrat) • Term expires 11/2018

Escambia Soil and Water Conservation District
Group 2: Austin Courson (Republican) • Term expires 1/2019
Group 4: Lynn Laird (Democrat) • Term expires 1/2019

County Court Judge
Groups 2, 4 and 5